NewsSouth Dakota

USD Medical School Leaders and Faculty Honored

COVID-19: Campus Updates and Information

VERMILLION, S.D. – All three 2021 honorees by the South Dakota American College of Physicians (SD ACP) are physician leaders associated with the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.
The recipient of SD ACP’s highest annual award, the Laureate Award, is Tim Ridgway, M.D., dean of the school of medicine and vice-president of USD’s Division of Health Affairs. Ridgway, a gastroenterologist, became USD’s medical school dean in 2020 after 14 years of service as dean of faculty affairs for the school of medicine.
Jennifer Hasvold, M.D., was honored by SD ACP as the Early Career Physician of the Year. Hasvold, a specialist in internal medicine and pediatrics, practices in Rapid City. She has been a clinical assistant professor for USD’s medical school since 2014 and directs required and elective rotations for Pillar 3 medical students.
Tamera Lee Sturm, D.O., has been honored as Teacher of the Year. Sturm, an internist and hospitalist at Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls, has been teaching medical students and residents as part of the clinical faculty at USD’s Sanford School of Medicine since 2010.
USD’s Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.
Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News


What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 1,021

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *