NewsSouth Dakota

Seefeldt named Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education

South Dakota State University Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dennis Hedge announced today Teresa Seefeldt has been named vice provost for undergraduate education. The position provides leadership in the areas of academic program quality, compliance, curriculum development and assessment of undergraduate student learning outcomes.
“We are very excited to have Teresa move into this important role within Academic Affairs,” Hedge said. “Her experience in the College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions will transition well into this position. Teresa is an outstanding educator, and her knowledge of student success strategies, academic program accreditation, assessment and curriculum design will be tremendous assets in ensuring an undergraduate education at South Dakota State University is of excellent quality.”
Seefeldt’s education and career has been at SDSU since earning a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmaceutical sciences in 2002. She later earned her Pharm.D. and Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences from SDSU. Her roles in the college have included serving as the coordinator of curriculum and assessment in 2016, acting assistant dean for academic affairs from 2017-19 and most recently, associate dean for academic programs. Her recent teaching has been in the areas of pathophysiology, pharmacology and toxicology, and health care practice.
“I am excited for the opportunity to serve as the university’s next vice provost for undergraduate education,” Seefeldt said. “During my years at SDSU, I have had many opportunities to see the high-quality, student-centered education provided in our undergraduate programs. I look forward to collaborating with students, faculty, administrators, staff and external stakeholders to continue advancing undergraduate education at the university.”
Seefeldt has served as a site team member for the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education for the past four years and is a committee member for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Assessment Special Interest Group. She received the 2021 Van D. and Barbara B. Fishback Honors College Teacher of the Year Award and is a three-time recipient of the College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions Teacher of the Year Award, including the last two years.
Seefeldt will begin to transition to her new duties Monday.
Image for College of Pharmacy & Allied Health Professions
Image for Academic Excellence


What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 1,022

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *