NewsSouth Dakota

SDSU Civic Symphony to present ‘And God Created Great Whales’

The South Dakota State University Civic Symphony will perform “And God Created Great Whales” at 4 p.m. Nov. 13 in the Oscar Larson Performing Arts Center’s Larson Memorial Concert Hall.
Jacob Pfeifer, a winner of the SDSU Concerto-Aria Competition, will be featured as a piano soloist on Mendelssohn’s “Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor.”  
In a nod to the upcoming holiday season, the orchestra will also present four selections from Tchaikovsky’s famous ballet, “The Nutcracker.”  
The capstone work for this concert is Alan Hovhaness’ “And God Created Great Whales.” Written in 1970, it is one of the first artistic works produced in the United States with the intention of bringing the plight of the great humpback whale to the contemporary human conscience. The score calls for the orchestra to perform ocean-imitative patterns while recordings of actual whales are interjected over loudspeakers.  
Two South American tangos round out the afternoon’s program.  
The concert is free, and the public is invited to attend.  
For more information, please contact the SDSU School of Performing Arts at 605-688-5187.
Image for School of Performing Arts
Image for The Oscar Larson Performing Arts Center


What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 838

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *