NewsSouth Dakota

Meet Artist Dick Termes at the Cultural Heritage Center

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 16, 2022
CONTACT: Kevin Larsen, Media Coordinator, 605-773-6000, Kevin.Larsen@state.sd.us
 
Meet Artist Dick Termes at the Cultural Heritage Center
 
PIERRE, S.D. — “Termespheres: The Art of Dick Termes” will be on exhibit in the Hogen Gallery at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre through Aug. 29.
 
An opportunity to meet Termes and experience his innovative work will be showcased during a meet and greet event Saturday, June 25, at 1 p.m. CDT/12 p.m. MDT followed by a 2 p.m. CDT/1 p.m. MDT discussion of his work.
 
Artist Dick Termes paints on spheres which, when completed, are known as Termespheres. Each Termesphere is a revolving three-dimensional space exploration of an entirely closed universe, meaning that what observers see, rotating in front of them, is one complete world or environment. Sixteen pieces are included in the Hogen Gallery exhibit at the Cultural Heritage Center.
 
During the event, Termes will explain why and how he painted these pieces and will share fun stories about his work. The program is free, and refreshments will be served.
 
There is now free admission to the museum for all South Dakota residents and children from everywhere. Museum hours are 10 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. CDT/9 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. MDT Monday through Saturday, and 1-4:30 p.m. CDT/12-3:30 p.m. MDT Sundays and most holidays. Call 605-773-3458 for more information about exhibits, special events, and upcoming activities. Call 605-773-6000 for information on membership in the State Historical Society.
 
-30-
 
About the South Dakota State Historical Society
The South Dakota State Historical Society is a division of the Department of Education. The State Historical Society, an Affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution since 2013, is headquartered at the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre. The center houses the society’s world-class museum, the archives, and the historic preservation, publishing, and administrative/development offices. Call 605-773-3458 or visit www.history.sd.gov for more information. The society also has the Archaeological Research Center in Rapid City; call 605-394-1936 for more information.

source

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 757

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.