NewsSouth Dakota

Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education Winners Announced

The 2022 winners of the prestigious Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education were announced today by the McGraw Family Foundation and the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education. Cheryl Logan, Barry Dunn and Roy Pea — three leaders in the field doing groundbreaking work in pre-K–12 classrooms, on university campuses and in learning science research, respectively — are being recognized for their extraordinary achievements. Each winner will receive an award of $50,000 and an iconic awards sculpture.
“The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 to honor my father’s commitment to literacy and education and to shine a spotlight on innovative and dedicated educators who empower our students and enhance our society,” said Harold McGraw III, former Chairman, CEO and President of The McGraw-Hill Companies. “I salute this year’s winners — Cheryl Logan, Barry Dunn and Roy Pea — who meet the highest standards of excellence and who have changed the lives of so many by their leadership and passion.”
The 2022 winners:
“These inspiring education leaders have changed the lives of so many individuals through their work. Each represents the best in our field and what it means to be an educator. Their impact is profound, and we are so proud to honor their outstanding contributions,” said Pam Grossman, dean of Penn GSE and a leading expert on teacher quality.
The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation selected Penn GSE as the home for the McGraw Prize in 2020. Recognized internationally for its cutting-edge initiatives, distinguished faculty and as a training ground for top educators and leaders, Penn GSE is currently the No. 1 graduate school of education in the country, according to U.S. News & World Report. The partnership includes administering the annual prize, an awards ceremony and celebration in November and ongoing programming with more than 100 past winners, including symposiums and a webinar series.
Through a public nomination process, McGraw Prize awardees were submitted for consideration by their peers, with winners then selected during three rounds of judging, including a final round by an independent panel of esteemed leaders in the field. Past winners have included teachers, professors, superintendents, university presidents, non-profit leaders, entrepreneurs and public officials.  Many continue to play major roles across the education landscape.
To learn more, visit
Statement from SDSU President Barry Dunn on being named recipient of the prestigious Harold W. McGraw Jr. Higher Education Prize
ABOUT The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation
The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation, established by Harold W. McGraw, Jr., is a not-for-profit private foundation whose primary mission is focused on education, youth services, community health and medical research. Harold W. McGraw, Jr. was the Chairman and CEO of McGraw-Hill and dedicated his life to education and literacy. 
Image for Office of the President
Image for College of Agriculture, Food & Environmental Sciences
Image for College of Pharmacy & Allied Health Professions
Image for Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering
Image for College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
Image for College of Education and Human Sciences
Image for College of Nursing
Image for Van D. & Barbara B. Fishback Honors College
Image for Wokini Initiative
Image for American Indian Student Center
Image for American Indian Opportunities at SDSU
Image for Native American Nursing Education Center


What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 853

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *