NewsSouth Dakota

2022 Sturgis Rally Final Vehicle Counts

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2022
Contact: Steve Kamarainen, Region Traffic Engineer, 605-394-1622
 
STURGIS, S.D. – Final vehicle traffic counts from the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) for vehicles entering Sturgis for the 82nd Annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally Aug. 5-14, 2022, have been tallied.
 
Traffic counts at nine locations entering Sturgis for the 2022 Rally are as follows:
 
Friday, Aug. 5: 56,855 entering
Saturday, Aug. 6: 62,199 entering
Sunday, Aug. 7: 60,672 entering
Monday, Aug. 8: 62,050 entering
Tuesday, Aug. 9: 58,610 entering
Wednesday, Aug. 10: 54,599 entering
Thursday, Aug. 11: 45,356 entering
Friday, Aug. 12: 44,246 entering
Saturday, Aug. 13: 32,917 entering
Sunday, Aug. 14: 20,331 entering
 
2022 – 10 Day Total: 497,835 Vehicles
Previous 5-Year Average: 492,535 Vehicles
 
Once compiled, a full report (including traffic counts across the greater Black Hills area) will be available on the SDDOT website at https://dot.sd.gov/transportation/highways/traffic the week of Aug. 22, 2022.
 
About SDDOT:
The mission of the South Dakota Department of Transportation is to efficiently provide a safe and effective public transportation system.
 
For the latest on road and weather conditions, road closures, construction work zones, commercial vehicle restrictions, and traffic incidents, please visit https://sd511.org or dial 511.

To find additional information related to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally such as reduced speed limit areas, temporary traffic signal locations, frequently asked questions, and more, please visit: https://dot.sd.gov/travelers/travelers/sturgis-rally-travel-information-faq.
 
-30-

source

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 756

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.